top of page
Search
  • sydt0731

Licorice Root, Loquat Leaf, and Ginger

As I said in my last post, I have begun to research the medicinal benefits of the ingredients in a Chinese cough syrup called Nin Jiom Pei Pa Koa. I decided to start off with licorice root, loquat leaf, and ginger because they seem like the most common extracts out all of the ingredients.


Licorice surprisingly has numerous benefits that I wasn't aware of. For thousands of years, it has been used by the Chinese and Egyptians as a "cure-all" medicine. Licorice helps to soothe the stomach by repairing stomach lining for cases like food poisoning, stomach ulcers, and heartburn. Licorice can also cleanse the respiratory system by producing new and healthy phlegm.


Loquat leaf is used as an antioxidant and it can help to reduce swelling and redness. It can reduce congestion, cough, sensitivity to irritants especially in the lungs by hampering the communication between cells that detect irritation and initiate an inflammatory response. Loquat can also reduce stress and support brain health by protecting against oxidative stress and damage.


Most people know that ginger is used to help treat various cases of nausea but it can also help reduce muscle pain if taken in small doses every day. Additionally, ginger helps with chronic indigestion by speeding up the process of emptying the stomach. Ginger also contains a chemical called 6-gingerol, which is currently being researched for its benefits towards cancer.


A document of my current notes are under my notes page if you are interested in reading more about these medicinal remedies.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 28th Journal

Here is my loom link: https://www.loom.com/share/ca46a137a4dd4bd6bd88b4b769ff6aea Here is the link to my outline (this week's sources are...

May 21st Journal

Here are my loom links (my computer rebooting during the middle of filming): Part One: https://www.loom.com/share/f24557594fa34954a73302e...

May 14th Journal

Here is my loom link: https://www.loom.com/share/589a9a622584475e9fe626386f1f3dae Here are this week's sources:...

Comments


bottom of page