top of page
Search
  • sydt0731

What? So What? Now What?

With some help on narrowing down my research, I have finally decided to just focus on Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), more specifically Chinese Herbal Medicine (CHM), acupuncture, and moxibustion. But for specifically this month, I have decided to focus on regulation and standards of natural medicine in the U.S., issues with ignorance about CHM in the west, and how we can make get rid of the stigma with herbal remedies.


I am choosing to research these topics is that I realize that the topic of Chinese medicine does not apply to my western audience. So I wanted my end goal for this project to be to not only inform people about Chinese medicine but to find a way to incorporate into western medicine so that we can use CHM to make the prescription medication work better. I've realized that in the U.S. we swing from one extreme to another. Right now, we are transitioning from a purely synthetic medicine to natural remedies including CHM. Being on the far side of any spectrum is never good, which is why I think that if we can find a way to manifest harmony between both sides, the healthcare industry can reach new heights.


However, I first need to find a way to address the current issues with CHM in the United States. I plan to first research the issues with non-FDA approved natural remedies with products like dietary supplements to herbal extracts. Then maybe in the next week or two, I will look at the difference in the preparation of remedies in the U.S. and China. I plan on using the Syracuse database and medicinal/health websites as sources of information. I may also use news articles to get a general idea about certain issues as well.

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 28th Journal

Here is my loom link: https://www.loom.com/share/ca46a137a4dd4bd6bd88b4b769ff6aea Here is the link to my outline (this week's sources are...

May 21st Journal

Here are my loom links (my computer rebooting during the middle of filming): Part One: https://www.loom.com/share/f24557594fa34954a73302e...

May 14th Journal

Here is my loom link: https://www.loom.com/share/589a9a622584475e9fe626386f1f3dae Here are this week's sources:...

Comments


bottom of page